Ag Appreciation Luncheon

The annual Ag Appreciation Luncheon is our way to say “thank you” to those who provide our food and fiber. Because agriculture is the largest industry in Decatur County, we invite agricultural-type businesses and farmers who operate in Decatur County to the event, which features a seafood buffet, door prizes, and a program given by a leading industry expert. 

The Chamber of Commerce Ag Committee is also honored to present awards to the Decatur County Agriculture Woman of the Year and Man of the Year.  The purpose of these awards is to recognize a woman and a man in Decatur County who are outstanding leaders in agriculture and make leadership contributions to the agriculture industry and community. The committee also awards the Ag Influence Award when an honorable recipient is present in the community. This award highlights someone that that has made a lasting impact on Decatur County's agricultural landscape throughout their lifetime work. 

Past Ag Man recipients include: Hubert Dollar, Tommy Wheeler, Robert Humphrey, Marvin Rentz, Eddie McGriff, Alvin Newton, Dr. Oscar Jackson, Keith Griffin, Jud Greene, Glenn Heard, Willis Berry, Andy Bell, John Bridges, Sr., John Bridges, Jr., Charles Bailey, Greg Calhoun, Tommy Dollar, Kim Rentz, Clifford Dollar, Jr., Douglas Dean, Jerry Long, Russell Day, Alan Davis, Harold Barber, J.B. Kendrick and Dale and Greg Murray, Robert M. Cohen, Paul Digby, and Buster Bell. 

Past Ag Woman recipients include: Lillian Griffin, Jo Smith, Sybil Mills, Leslie Barber, Debby Braswell, Carolyn Bridges, Frances Edmunds, Janice Long, Ruth Day, Lindsay Hayes, Diane Stuart, Kathy Hornsby, Anita Kendrick, Waldine Scott, Emma Jean Bell, Kathy Smith, and Kelli Long.

2018 was the first year the Ag Influence award was given, the reciepent being Richard Monson. 

The 18th Annual Ag Appreciation Lunch will be held on Friday, November 8 at the Cloud Livestock Facility. 

Submit a Nomination for Ag Man or Ag Woman of the Year

Nominations close September 20, 2019.

AG Woman of the Year Nomination Link:


Ag Man of the Year Nomination Link: